Reviews

Would you like to tell us something about your experiences with Epique? Then you can post a message here. Do you have any suggestions for improving our programs or activities? Send us a message via the contact page. Read here the experiences of people who have been with us.

  1. Cozy and challenging, together at home together.

    Review over: Epique social, Gepubliceerd op

    20 July 2021

    Nice route, nice extra info along the way and nice to cycle together. To be repeated

  2. Despite Covid, still able to ski this season

    Review over: Buckel Training Netherlands, Gepubliceerd op

    6 July 2021

    Nice 2 months on the moguls trained in Huizen. Educational and pleasant. No real snow, but definitely recommended! Back again in the fall!

  3. A super trip.

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    30 June 2021

    How nice it was. Nice people, good guides, a good hotel, ski training with even 2 days of fresh snow which allowed us to go off-piste. Hiking, biking, swimming and so on. The perfect summer/winter sports holiday. I enjoyed everything. I definitely want to go again next year.

  4. Brilliant experience

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    28 June 2021

    Was a very nice experience. Ski in the morning; gaining technique, clear explanation, diverse terrain and group at a level. Hiking and Biking in the afternoon; conviviality, effort, surprise and satisfaction. Charge and analyze in the evening at the hotel. Special group of people with all the same passion for sports in the mountains. This trip was my first trip with Epique. But certainly not my last! Until next time!

  5. All seasons in one weekend

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    28 June 2021

    Super fun trip with a versatile program. Ski training and freeride on a summer morning. And do other mountain things in the afternoon. In addition to the really professional guidance, it is also downright pleasant. I hope there will be another trip like this next year.

  6. It was very nice and beautiful route

    Review over: Epique social, Gepubliceerd op

    20 May 2021

    And definitely worth repeating!

  7. Limburg certainly took me further and gave me inspiration

    Review over: Learning by riding Limburg, Gepubliceerd op

    3 May 2021

    Today I more than doubled my standard distance. It struck me how wonderful it is to make up for a corner with the pedal up and weight the other way. I am also glad that I now know how to lift my bicycle quickly and conveniently. I unexpectedly had to jump over water! I wish I had learned how to do that.

  8. Fun and sporty days

    Review over: Learning by riding Limburg, Gepubliceerd op

    3 May 2021

    Saturday morning gathering in a fresh, but sun-drenched Valkenburg. After an introductory round, while enjoying a cup of coffee, we start our tour. Everyone in our group comes from the flatter parts of the Netherlands, so on the first climb there is a kind of pile-up… But in good spirits we all get back on the pedals and after that it goes a lot better. It’s a wonderful trip. All kinds of climbs, descents, paths, trails, drops and beautiful nature. Gijs-Jan navigates us through everything flawlessly, the only hitch is the closed supermarket, but luckily GJ has enough energy to continue cycling and come back with snacks, fruit and drinks. It’s two fun, sporty days. As always with Epique. Make sure you are in good shape, because that increases the fun enormously!

  9. Great workouts!

    Review over: Ski Technique Training, Gepubliceerd op

    29 August 2020

    Buckel (track) and technique training (Zoetermeer) super varied and challenging training sessions. Very nice to progress at your own level and with individual instructions. Thanks Michiel and Roderik for your enthusiasm!

  10. Top!

    Review over: Ski Technique Training, Gepubliceerd op

    28 August 2020

    Participated for third year, but remains fun and challenging! Trainer has personal guidance including video analysis… Highly recommended if you want to keep working on your technique during the summer!!

  11. Top Trip! For me everything in 4 days

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    7 July 2020

    Amazing experience. Ski training and off-piste tracks in the morning. And icing on the cake in the afternoon. A fantastic and relaxed walk, a unique Glacier ice cave walk and a challenging MTB climb. Had all weather types. And this under the very competent guidance of Gijs-Jan. Do I say more!? When are we going again 🙂

  12. A super trip.

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    7 July 2020

    How delicious it was. Summer holiday and winter sports in one trip. Freeriding and technique training in the morning and a varied program with hiking, mountain biking and an adventurous visit to the Eispalast in the afternoon. I thoroughly enjoyed all the views, the physical activity, the nice group and the good guidance of our guide Gijs-jan.

  13. Unique adventure

    Review over: Free Tour Georgia, Gepubliceerd op

    6 July 2020

    Special country with many different tour options. Perfect combination of snow, skiing and culture. Trip was surprising, challenging and well arranged. Pleasant travel group and super guidance from Gijs-Jan (and Rik)

  14. Summer Ski, Super experience and top arranged!

    Review over: Summer Ski Tux, Gepubliceerd op

    6 July 2020

    Just finished the 4-day ‘Summer Ski’ and still reminiscing. How wonderful to combine skiing with a nice Hike, cool MTB ride and a visit ‘in’ the Glacier. And of course great to make ‘Off-piste’ runs in July! A beautiful and challenging program, put together and under the guidance of Gijs-Jan!

  15. glittered round

    Review over: Epique social, Gepubliceerd op

    19 May 2020

    Ride with Epique Social from Lage Vuursche. Drive regularly on the ridge but still discover new pieces. Nice people. Until the next.

  16. Silvretta tour: Very good experience.

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    12 May 2020

    Freetour was unknown to me and I experienced everything in 1 week: from beautiful powder in the sun to 8bft snowstorm up on my slats. So I got a good picture. Not always nice, it was biting, but beautiful. And free. Top guides. Thnx Nico and Michiel for tracking, what an adventure. Let’s do it again!

  17. Great trip in Kazakhstan

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Tian Shan, Kazakhstan, Gepubliceerd op

    31 March 2020

    A week of splitboarding in Kazakhstan was my first experience with Epique. And it was great! Staying for a week at 3600m in an old Soviet station is an experience in itself, especially in those beautiful surroundings. Kazakhstan was nice mix of old and modern. The mountain guide Christian was perfect and the local guide Vladimir arranged everything perfectly. A great trip, definitely recommended!

  18. Wonderful trip off the beaten ski tour trails

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Tian Shan, Kazakhstan, Gepubliceerd op

    27 March 2020

    At the beginning of March 2020, we made a super cool trip to Almaty (Kazakhstan) with a group of 7 powder and tour ski enthusiasts. We were lucky with the weather, just a layer of fresh snow fell

  19. Skiing, adventure and culture. What a special experience!

    Review over: Free Tour Georgia, Gepubliceerd op

    11 March 2020

    A great destination to combine (tour) skiing and culture. The combination of a few days of free tour in Tetnuldi and pure tour days around Ushguli is also fun for the not seasoned skier. The scenery and culture really make this trip unforgettable. Of course with a nice travel group and under super guidance! Thanks guys.

  20. Great week!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    29 February 2020

    Week with Michiel had a very nice time. Lots of laughs and good skiing. Also learned a lot in terms of reading terrain and choosing lines. Michael Thanks!

  21. good club!

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    30 January 2020

    In Japan it turned out once again that the level of knowledge and expertise of Epique is unparalleled in the Netherlands. Everything is organized smoothly, they know the way to the right places and have good tips. Skiing in Japan is special! Skiing in Japan with Epique is more special!

  22. Very educational and a lot of fun!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    21 November 2019

    A friend who has already followed training courses at Epique several times has made me enthusiastic for this trip. It was my first time with Epique and also my first off-piste training. I do have quite a bit of off-piste experience, but have never followed a specific training for this. For me, the goal was to improve my technique and get tips from guides/teachers other than I normally ski with. I can recommend this training to anyone who wants to improve themselves in the terrain, but also on tracked slopes. My guide, Michiel, was critical of skiing technique, speed and safety in a good way. The training is structured logically, where you are continuously challenged to find your limit. A lot of attention is also paid to safety, which in my opinion is the most important if you are going to ride off-piste. The accommodation is really fully equipped and the staff is extremely friendly. Definitely worth repeating for me.

  23. If you want to learn to ski well, Epique is the right place for you!

    Review over: Ski Technique Training, Gepubliceerd op

    5 September 2019

    After a long period of back pain and the subsequent surgery, I was finally able to participate in the summer training sessions at Epique again. The great thing about the trainers at Epique, in this case Roderik and 2x Gijs-Jan as a substitute, is that everyone is trained to their abilities at that moment during the training, so that everyone gets better and better, even with injury / recovery, etc. is becoming. This makes every training challenging for everyone and because of the enthusiasm of the trainers you are able to push your limit every descent in order to get better and better. As a result, I had a number of very nice and very good training sessions, which made me take another step to become a technically even better skier!

  24. Always knows how to find good snow

    Review over: Heidelberger Hütte weekend, Gepubliceerd op

    24 April 2019

    During the (late) Easter of 2019 I was allowed to go to Ischgl and the Heidelbergerhütte. Despite the late time of the year and the fact that there was virtually no snow on the valley slopes, Gijs-Jan managed to find very good snow during the freeride and certainly during the ski touring. Very good information provision in advance and genuine hospitality during the trip mean that I have already registered for a tour for 2020.

  25. Great holiday in super conditions

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    1 April 2019

    Just spent 4 days on the road with Gijs-Jan. A very pleasant guide who left the group free and in the meantime kept an eye on things and planned the routes perfectly (almost everything on northern slopes with always perfect powder). He himself visibly enjoyed skiing and boarding, which was infectious for us.

  26. Top holiday with a top guide

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    1 April 2019

    This spring, with a group of friends led by Gijs-Jan, we made beautiful tracks in the Arlberg powder. Super nice day trips, combination of freeriding and touring, top guide!

  27. Great mix of Skitour, culture and adventure

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Tian Shan, Kazakhstan, Gepubliceerd op

    21 March 2019

    Kazakhstan is highly recommended for anyone who feels like touring but not walking all day. Is looking for more culture than Austrian apres-ski and is not averse to a little adventure. The trip to Kazakhstan is one of the (many) gems that Epique has to offer. The combination of free tour and an up-lift by 4×4 still guarantees the necessary meters of descending. Staying at the Cosmo Station is an unforgettable experience in all respects. With the visit to the city of Almaty and the trip to Charyn Canyon, this trip is about more than just skiing.

  28. Super nice, active, well organized week in the mountains accompanied by a good guide!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    15 March 2019

    Had a very nice, active week in a very beautiful part of the Alps. We had mostly nice weather with good snow conditions. Nice group of guests and good guide. I want nothing more than to tour! See you next year!

  29. Super cool unforgettable experience in cold Siberia!

    Review over: Cat Skiing or Boarding in Siberia, Gepubliceerd op

    4 January 2019

    During the Christmas of 2018 I went to Siberia with Epique to go cat skiing. What a cool experience this was! After a long journey we arrived at our lodge which was comfortable and cozy. Every day we were dropped off in the area with the snowcat, after which we could make beautiful descents! During each ride in the snowcat we were warmed up again. The guides managed to find new and challenging descents every day. The organization and food at the lodge were excellent. In short, an unforgettable experience and an absolute must!

  30. Special trip!

    Review over: Cat Skiing or Boarding in Siberia, Gepubliceerd op

    3 January 2019

    Went up with Epique during the Christmas week of 2018 for a unique Cat-ski adventure in Siberia. After a long journey we are warmly welcomed by the local organization. The lodge where we stay is really ‘in the middle of nowhere’, but in a beautiful setting and fully equipped. We then went on the road with the snowcat for 5 days and, despite the fact that we may not have the deep powder snow we had dreamed of, we had a great time skiing. The guide provided a nice variety between steeper, open slopes and tree runs. Of course, the necessary vodka and a visit to the Banja (Russian bathhouse) could not be missed. All this together with a nice group and good preparation by Epique made it a special trip that I remember with great pleasure!

  31. Well organized, learned a lot, super fun!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    22 November 2018

    Just returned from a long weekend of skiing in Hintertux, off piste training with Epique. Kept perfectly informed during the previous months by Rik van Epique, clear short clear emails with all the information you need to be prepared down to the last detail. I traveled alone, but a carpool appointment was arranged so that I drove to my destination with 2 others. Once there we were divided into the right groups with your ski trainer for those days. We were taught by Gerke, a nice, direct guy from whom I learned a lot. The video analyzes held in the evenings in the bar were not only very useful but also enjoyable. And of course an apres ski evening should not be missed either, after three days of getting to know each other, we went to have a party with the whole group (almost 50 people) in the nicest pub in Hintertux. Epique and fellow travelers thanks for a great holiday.

  32. Challenging experience and person-oriented guidance

    Review over: Ski & Sail Moondance, Gepubliceerd op

    6 October 2018

    The strength of Epique is the person-centred approach they offer in challenging circumstances! My last trip under Michiel to Norway, Sunnmore alps (sailing & ski touring) was physically challenging and has given me a lot of skiing technically. What has given me confidence is that attention was paid to skiing as well as the person-oriented approach in pushing boundaries. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun with the team!

  33. Ready for the new season!

    Review over: Ski Technique Training, Gepubliceerd op

    6 September 2018

    After a few years of skipping school, back to the “Summer Sessions” and absolutely no regrets! Learned a lot again from Roderik, who takes your ski level to a higher level with his personal tips and enthusiasm. Because you also do this together with a very nice group of ski fanatics, the summer training is an absolute must!

  34. Educational

    Review over: Buckel Training Netherlands, Gepubliceerd op

    4 September 2018

    In the summer of 2018 I participated in the track training of Epique in Snowworld Zoetermeer. I thought that with 30 years of skiing experience I could ski quite well. The first lesson I quickly felt like a beginner. Learning those new techniques turned out to be quite difficult, but luckily this went fairly smoothly due to the clear explanation and examples of Roderik.

    Halfway through the training period I registered for the off-piste training in Hintertux November 2018. I am very curious what I will learn here, enough in any case I am convinced.

  35. Impressive trip to Siberian Kamchatka Peninsula

    Review over: Heli Skiing in Kamchatka, Russia, Gepubliceerd op

    25 May 2018

    In May 2018 I went to Kamchatka, Russia with Epique. First time heli-skiing for me, but certainly not the last! Beautiful spring weather and kilometers of descents in the firnschnee. Skiing in sulfur fumes from (active) volcanoes, through abandoned Russian army villages, along Siberian fjords… An unforgettable experience!

  36. Amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience!

    Review over: Heidelberger Hütte weekend, Gepubliceerd op

    9 May 2018

    Going snowboarding in the late season in the Ischgl area – what an experience! Gijs-Jan knew exactly where to go off-piste to grab the last bit of powder. Sleeping in the Heidelberger Hutte and splitboarding in the area was a unique experience!

  37. A must for anyone who likes to combine skiing passion with culture and adventure.

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Tian Shan, Kazakhstan, Gepubliceerd op

    28 April 2018

    Kazakhstan, a very adventurous journey to an unknown snow destination. Good company, impressive landscapes, special culture and fantastic ski and tour opportunities made for an unforgettable trip.

  38. Insanely spectacular!

    Review over: Heli Skiing in Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    15 April 2018

    Four great days of heli ski in Iceland!
    So beautiful and so cool!
    I didn’t dare at first…..but I did it!
    Nice crew (all kinds of nationalities), very good accommodation and good food.
    I want to go back………..

  39. (W)ow.. a wafer-thin line between pain and pleasure

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    22 March 2018

    For me, the Silvretta hut tour was my first “hike” experience. My split board was still in the plastic when I arrived. Of course you have to be a bit lucky in terms of weather and group division on such a trip. Everything else, you don’t have to worry about that not to worry because Epique has arranged that very well.The professional guides give you a very good feeling of safety and their passion for the sport makes that they continuously challenge the group to give that little bit extra.Every day you celebrate on the climbed mountain top a small party for victory against the elements after which you put thick stripes in fresh powder.

    Tip: Train your endurance. Don’t underestimate it!

  40. was great!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    12 February 2018

    Had a very nice trip with the guides from Epique. We were on the road with a diverse group (10 people), of which 8 excellent skiers and 2 novices. Finally went out with 8 men with some challenging hikes and cool runs. was great!

  41. Next ski appointment has already been booked, seems clear to me.

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    12 February 2018

    The guide makes it clear in a pleasant way where your points for improvement lie

  42. Had a very educational, adventurous, professional off-piste course with Gijs-Jan.

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    7 February 2018

    Had an excellent, adventurous, educational trip and course with Gijs-Jan in Austria.
    The only downside is the hotel choice, which was particularly disappointing in terms of quality and location.
    Tip, ask the student in advance about his or her budget for the accommodation to avoid these kinds of disappointments. Otherwise a great trip with a very pleasant teacher/guide in the form of Gijs-Jan.
    Otherwise a great trip/course

  43. Great again!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    3 February 2018

    Had a great week in Portes du Soleil, both in the snow and in the hotel! Had a lot of fun with the group. And our guide Roderik was able every day to find beautiful descents that matched our level. Again learned a lot, done new things and pushed boundaries. I’m already looking forward to the next trip! #addicted

  44. Everything perfectly together!

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    24 January 2018

    Epique’s guides are skilled and have done everything they can to make everyone happy, despite the fact that not everyone in the group had the same wishes or expectations. Hats off and I’d love to join you again!

  45. Totally awesome!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    23 January 2018

    6 days of training was 90% off piste. Nice atmosphere. Quite spicy but so good for the learning curve. Thanks in part to Epique’s top guides, who always managed to find world spots with undisturbed terrain. Totally awesome!

  46. Heli Skiing Canada

    Review over: Heli Skiing in Canada, Gepubliceerd op

    23 January 2018

    Heli skiing for the first time. Something I’ve wanted for a long time, but what does it all involve?
    Epique gave me a lot of advice and then arranged the complete trip with all the trimmings.
    A journey you will never forget. Northern Escape Heli Skiing, Terrace BC Canada is amazing.
    Beautiful luxury lodge, great food, nice people and fantastic skiing.
    The dry powder snow is top notch and the runs are superb. The best skiing experience ever!
    Epique thanks for this great vacation.

  47. Season Kick-Off 2017 - Extended version

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    2 January 2018

    Went on the road with Gijs-Jan Lavèn during the Kick-off as well as the 3 following days. Overall, it was a really great trip. It seemed as if luck could be forced. Unprecedented good year, that also helped. In larger and small groups in the mountains you can see that Gijs-Jan is in his element. Beautiful routes chosen and scored without a trace! Highly recommended to go on the road with him, nice and good guide!

  48. WePowder opening 2017: Powder, powder, powder

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    18 December 2017

    Perfect conditions combined with an excellent organization and good escort / guide (Sale) have made this trip unforgettable. It’s really nice to be in the powder all day with a group of like-minded people. Sale knew how to find the right places, let everyone have fun and “casually” also teach you something. Also the right attention to safety (not unimportant when freeriding).

  49. High-level ski lessons

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    2 December 2017

    Hear it through the mouth that the training is highly recommended and that is not a word of a lie! Enthusiastic teacher (Roderik), like-minded teammates and just really learned a lot! Please come and follow the mogul slope training at Roderik in the Netherlands!

  50. I will be doing this more often!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    30 November 2017

    Had off-piste training in Tux and learned a lot. I am an inexperienced freerider and I am very well trained in all respects. The hotel was well organized and the trainers (Sale and GJ) knew how to approach the slopes very well at ease but challenging. Take another trip this season!

  51. This tastes like more!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    27 November 2017

    Did an off-piste training for the second time in Hintertux. Had a great week! Pleasant group of people, nice hotel (top wellness), a few days of sun and the last day a fantastic powder day! Learned a lot from Sale (Christiaan), our guide. Next year again!

  52. professional guidance in a holiday atmosphere

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    23 November 2017

    Just returned from an off piste training in Hintertux. How beautiful it was! Beautiful descents, nice group and clear explanations from a very knowledgeable guide. Intensive skiing during the day and time for relaxation in the evening. Good combination. I’ll be back.

  53. Fantastic attention to detail which is appropriate to each participants own level.

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    21 November 2017

    This was the 3rd off-piste training for me and again I learned more! Now looking forward to a season to put it all into practice!

  54. Thanks for the great trip!

    Review over: Tour ski & splitboard road trip Senja, Gepubliceerd op

    10 May 2017

    Senja is an island with endless possibilities, something for everyone. Beautiful mountains, virgin slopes and fantastic views. You go here for the adventure, the purity of the far north and the great guidance of Epique Mountain Adventures. There is no excuse not to go.

  55. Iceland ski tours: wonderful experience in rugged nature and a super guide and captain. Plus: No phone and WiFi

    Review over: Ski & Sail Hornstrandir, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    27 April 2017

    Rugged Northwestern Fjords on the Peninsula. Fantastic trip for the ski-touring nature lover who wants to enjoy beautiful trips with unique views just below the Arctic Circle. Conviviality on the boat with Captain Siggi who is also a great cook and especially thanks to Gijs Jan Laven. Best ski tour experience ever. Must See and Do!

  56. Super satisfied with the Season Closure 2017

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    20 April 2017

    Great guide who Bas Elhorst, a real topper, had three very good days during the Season Closure!

  57. Fantastic new ski touring experience in the Silvretta

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    18 April 2017

    Under the guidance of Epique guide 4 days of touring the Silvrettagruppe has given me a lasting memory. What a fantastic area and super guidance. Epique does not go for good, but for the superlative. Just a special route, just that slightly more beautiful and steeper descent. Beaten tracks are abandoned and new ones are formed. Definitely recommended!

  58. My best ski week yet!

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    18 April 2017

    I had already understood from others that once you’ve tasted ski touring, you don’t want anything else. And it’s true!!! Had a great tour ski week in Silvretta with Gijs-Jan as guide. Beautiful area and with GJ we had a super guide. He knows the area like the back of his hand and knows how to find the most beautiful climbs and descents flawlessly. He also estimates the abilities of the participants well so that we could get the most out of the week and gives good tips on how to further improve the skiing technique. Together with a great organization from Epique, a nice group, and great weather (you have to be lucky), I can say that this was my best ski week so far (and I’ve been skiing for quite some time). I can’t wait for winter to come! 🙂

  59. Senja is a candy store!

    Review over: Tour ski & splitboard road trip Senja, Gepubliceerd op

    17 April 2017

    Part 2 with Michiel, again no disappointment but an upgrade from the previous trip. The candy store of Senja (Norway) is big, very big and we have only discovered a small part. Tree runs for when the weather is really bad, open Bowls for the better days and the countless amazingly beautiful couloirs for the ultimate dessert. Senja has it all, not to mention the views along the way.

  60. was one of the best ski trips ever!

    Review over: Tour ski & splitboard road trip Senja, Gepubliceerd op

    13 April 2017

    It’s always good with Michael! Continue and look at the possibilities. Always looking for the best plans and involving us in them positively. Circumstances were fine, but you still have to make something beautiful out of it and Michiel can do that like no other!

  61. Magical hut tour with GJ

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    13 April 2017

    Experienced a brilliant week with Gijs-Jan in the Silvretta Mountains, we (4 friends) and GJ had a great week. Gijs-Jan is really a top guy: knows how to motivate and enthuse you like no other and achieves it maximum out!

    TO ENJOY!

  62. If you could, you should go heliskiing with Epique & Last Frontier

    Review over: Heli Skiing in Canada, Gepubliceerd op

    29 March 2017

    Heli-skiing was a long-cherished dream for me that I was able to fulfill through Epique. Last Frontier (Epique partner for heliskiing in BC Canada) has very good papers for this: Very professionally organised, more than 20 years of experience, safe, very well cared for and above all in an area where you can always find good snow so that you are guaranteed ride the best runs of your life. The fact that this also happens in small groups by heli and under the guidance of guides who are nice, makes me wonder whether heli-skiing can be even better. I had the time of my life and will always remember this trip.

  63. Unique experience

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    7 March 2017

    At the request of our group, the guide suggested a ski tour in the Silvretta from the Heidelbergerhütte, an area and a hut where he is clearly at home. He arranged the cabin for us down to the last detail and provided all the information (reaching the cabin, renting equipment, etc). The ski tour was therefore a direct hit. Gijs-Jan gives tips at everyone’s level, he can formulate them visually with one-liners and an exciting build-up to the ultimate golden tip. He managed to connect with our close-knit group and despite the West Flemish sound cacophony he sensed the dynamics well. The tour days were extensively discussed the night before and explained on the map. He provides a challenging destination that provides euphoric satisfaction and extra team spirit when reached. An unforgettable experience to enjoy for a long time (tattoo-wise?) and to dream of next time.

  64. Perfectly organised

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    20 February 2017

    Epique organized a great tour ski trip for 35 people. Besides that it was very pleasant, they also know a lot about the profession. Know how to find the most beautiful, but also the safest descents. Really top guides and top organization! To be repeated!

  65. Auke is a winner

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    15 February 2017

    The off-piste training in February 2017 was great fun and educational again. Thanks to Auke’s fine and good lessons, I have learned a lot again. Thank you Auke

  66. super cool @ antarctica

    Review over: Ski & Sail Antarctic Peninsula, Gepubliceerd op

    6 February 2017

    Finally I understand what cool really means! The expedition to Antarctica is truly a Life changing experience. It all starts with the crossing of the Drake passage on a sailing yacht through the raging southern ocean. The welcome by orcas, penquins and spectacular ice formations is indescribable, but Super guides Michiel and Phil not only bring you auction everywhere, but also provide beautiful photos and (drone) films. Take a look at the Facebook page of Epique and you will understand why I have no words for this. It is expensive and takes 5 weeks but it is more than worth it. I will never forget this and I can recommend it to every adventurous skier (and kayaker).

  67. Fantastic kick off

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    30 December 2016

    Join the WePowder Kick-off for the first time in early December. Location Val d’Isere Espace Killy, the freeriders paradise! And once again a trip with Epique was fantastic. Gijs-Jan as a guide knows how to make you enthusiastic, to motivate and still find beautiful descents every time.
    Furthermore, we had a very nice and pleasant group, I made a tour for the first time and we had, not unimportantly, beautiful weather.
    In short: another fantastic, beautiful, cool, fun, educational and beautiful freeride trip. Thank you Gijs-Jan and Epique!

  68. Good start to the season

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    13 December 2016

    Had a nice Season opening trip in Espace killy.
    Good atmosphere, enthusiastic guides team.
    On to the next trip.

  69. Super off-piste training and FUN

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    12 December 2016

    Ski lessons again after 25 years. “Sale” really is the perfect ski instructor to master the latest skiing techniques. Beautiful exercises (the Spine) that has ensured enormous progress for everyone. Intensive days but also a lot of FUN. Now ready for more off-piste.

  70. Super awesome!

    Review over: Freeride Portes so Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    29 November 2016

    You get what you won’t find anywhere: an integrated snowboard program just outside your comfort zone for the ultimate in freeriding. Nice guides who look good. Not always fun right away because of course you also have to be a bit knackered. Very educational with a steep learning curve for me. Keep on riding, share it. Warms, Coen

  71. Fantastic end to my ski season

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    12 April 2016

    Three wonderful days in Arlberg with two groups. Hiking, touring to get to the best runs. Which certainly would not have been such a great success with the first two, foggy, days without the guides Wolfgang and Christian.

  72. top environment with a guide who pushes nicely

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    12 April 2016

    Balanced group, not too many people and space to do separate things. Environment is superior and residence top. Michiel goes for it, be on your guard!

  73. Touring and sailing in Iceland: Unique experience in untouched nature without meeting anyone.

    Review over: Ski & Sail Hornstrandir, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    12 April 2016

    A wonderful and unique total experience in Iceland. Sailing through totally deserted fjords. Spot beautiful lines and couloirs from the Aurora. Despite limited touring experience under Michiel’s inspiring and resolute leadership, touring was very doable. Departing from sea level definitely helps with this. Very varied descents with a lot of challenge. Despite the absence of fresh powder, fantastic skiing this week. The conviviality on board, the wonderful and very varied group of people, cooking skills and local knowledge of Captain Siggi (and local guide Haukur) complete the picture. So don’t hesitate if you are looking for a wonderfully challenging adventure!

  74. Iceland read couloirland, offers "almost" everything you are looking for.

    Review over: Ski & Sail Hornstrandir, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    12 April 2016

    Let me start with the guide Michiel, a great guy who gives everyone the right push. That way everyone, regardless of their experience or background, has a great time. And with that he creates the right recipe together with host Siggi and Haukur to a perfect brew From sports, coming to yourself (long live no reach), group dynamics in a positive sense and good food.

    If you like pure life and a world that is partly yet to be discovered, this is your thing.

  75. WOW...... you will never forget such an Iceland trip

    Review over: Ski & Sail Hornstrandir, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    12 April 2016

    Booked only a few weeks in advance and don’t regret a second. The trip to Iceland itself is fun, but once on the sailboat you are immediately impressed by the nature, the mountains, the sea. The first fjord, the first crossing with the dinghy to the coast and the hike up is fantastic. When you are at the top and you can see the aurora all the way down below with a beautiful descent ahead: really unforgettable. And then you can still 5 whole days. Unforgettable is also the fun in the group with people you just met, the delicious food made by captain Siggi and the fantastic guidance of Michiel and our local Icelandic guide.

    Of course you can always just stay at home and hear the enthusiastic stories of people who have gone…

  76. Rarely learned so much in 1 week

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    31 March 2016

    With minimal prior knowledge I registered for an off-piste technique course. Michiel managed to transform our level from a skiing “Muppet Show” into something that even looked reasonable. Thank you very much for the educational and fun week, it was great!

  77. With guide Michiel de Ruiter on skis, he helped my snowboarding technique incredibly. That's your job!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    29 March 2016

    Had a really great week with the NSAC basic off piste technique course. Had a super fun week with nice people and learned a lot. I was the only snowboarder in the group and yet Michiel (not me of course) managed to explain to me what I had to do better or differently. That is of course something very nice and because of that I enjoy snowboarding so much more. In addition, such a week away is not only about what you learn but also about the well-being of your course group and Michiel certainly knew how to contribute to that. In short, I had a week that I will never forget thanks to the conviviality, the techniques we learned and the expertise of a very good guide!

  78. Experienced incredible special days with Epique, the guides GijsJan and Irian make the difference.

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    25 March 2016

    Group of 13 skiers and 3 snowboarders. If you really want something special with winter sports and you like challenges, book these men. They have exceeded our expectations in the ski and snowboard area. Also regarding the care everything was arranged in the last detail. This is just out of class!!!

  79. Professional, pleasant, fanatic, good and with a lot of dedication.

    Review over: Ski tour Sellrain Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    11 February 2016

    Epique’s guides are very good, we set out with a group of 28 people with Gijs-Jan as the main guide. The guides radiate a lot of experience. This gives confidence to the whole group. It’s so nice how they handle it , and for the avid skier this is really fantastic: walking uphill alone through unspoilt terrain, skiing down and setting first tracks.

    Also we couldn’t go to the reserved cabin the first day because of an avalanche on the way there. However this was excellent and soon moved to a hotel in the valley.

    Highly recommended, really!

    Gijs-Jan and other guides thank you, on behalf of the entire group.

  80. Great week with super snow!

    Review over: Freeride Portes so Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    29 January 2016

    It had just snowed a lot so there was about 30/40cm of fresh snow waiting for us for the Freeride week with Epique. So great! The guides were good, the group was fun and the hotel Esprit Montagne was super! Great food, a warm sauna and friendly service! All in all we had a perfect week. Thank you!

  81. Epique/que Hokkaido snow inspires Haiku

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    23 January 2016

    A Volcano Cone
    Planks cross flanks
    Packing powder snow

    Haiku (俳句; plural: haiku or haiku’s) is a form of Japanese poetry, written in three lines of which the first line has 5, the second line 7 and the third line has 5 syllables. The haiku, in its classical form, expresses a momentary experience, sometimes linked to and inspired by zen. The haiku is a thimble full of emotion, in which there is little room for dissections and approximate descriptions.
    japanfreeridefreetour

  82. Japanese fairytale snow world made accessible

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    22 January 2016

    White Japanese fairytale snow world

    What a wonderful trip this was! Champagne snow, freshies every day, good company of like-minded people and Japanese food. What does a man want more?

    Well, daily views of a volcano, off-piste sports in various Japanese ski resorts, with a guide. Face shots, powder sprays, tree runs. Japanese-style bathing, a Japanese holiday home, homemade breakfast buffet, Japanese food on the slopes. Not to mention a set of cool four-wheel-drive vans with (travel companion) drivers. Mountains of fun, challenge, pushing boundaries, watching your buddy and big, big smiles.

    And now you may be wondering: ‘Worked for a week and you lost it again?’ No, no and another no! Just when you are languid and tired after a week of banging at your computer, your thoughts wander back to that white Japanese fairytale snow world. Just then comes the realization again what a lucky person you have been by having been on the road with Epique, Michiel de Ruijter and Gijs-Jan Lavèn.

    What a beautiful back-country, what lovely people, what beautiful snow, what a wonderful trip.

  83. Superrr!

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    19 December 2015

    What a great experience! Nevertheless, I took the plunge and went on a freeride trip under the guidance of Epique. Quite exciting as an experienced on piste but inexperienced off piste skier… We received good instructions to improve technique on and off piste. I was also challenged again and again with a descent that I never thought I would make. Really cool! You come to the most beautiful places and I had every confidence in the guide with his knowledge and skills. It was also a very nice club. I’ll make sure to get some extra stamina and leg muscles next time… I’m already looking forward to it!

  84. Super, Challenging, Adventurous

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    18 December 2015

    Went here for the first time this year and will definitely do it again. A good division in terms of level (both ski/snowboard) so that everyone can grow at their own level. Not only for super advanced experts, but also for people who have a taste of off-piste experience for the first time. Top!!!

  85. With EPIQUE your season never ends.

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    15 December 2015

    Again I enjoyed the off-piste training with Michiel. Hintertux offers plenty of opportunities for this, unfortunately the off-piste conditions where bad due to a lack of snow. Beyond that I have refined my technique under guidance of Michiel and exceeded my limits on a controlled way what it takes to excel .
    Thanks for the good time and the beautiful pictures!

  86. I'll definitely return !

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    12 December 2015

    Thank Gijs-Jan and Vincent! Had a great training last week in Hintertux.
    Working on a better technique step by step on the basis of small exercises.
    For myself already after 2 days an improvement of 200%!
    Learning a lot, making a lot of miles. And with a good eye for motivation and safety.
    On time and had a nice break in the restaurant with a nice chat and sharing knowledge. You can certainly expect me back!

  87. Best way to start the season

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    5 December 2015

    Great way to get back in and update your skiing technique. Developments in the material make it necessary to constantly adapt the skiing style and Michiel and Gijs-Jan are excellent and patient teachers. Next year again…

  88. Top guidance, fun and super educational

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    4 December 2015

    There is no better season opener: taking advantage of the Hintertux area under the leadership of Epique in mid-November to improve skiing technique.
    Snow or no snow (both conditions seen from November 18 to 22), at Epique they know how to make a good translation from ski technique on the slopes to outside the slopes.
    Highly recommended to everyone, I’ll be back next year!

  89. Good instructions and relaxed board: great combination!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    3 December 2015

    During the off-piste training in Hintertux there were four snowboarders so we almost got private lessons from Bas Elhorst: Good, individual instructions, excellent exercises for a better basic technique and luckily enough time to look for beautiful powder spots. Bas did a fantastic job and through Epique everything was fine!

  90. Had great days in Stubai again with Michiel in Gijs-Jan

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    3 December 2015

    For the 4th consecutive time we had a fun and educational off-piste training in November. The guys do their job perfectly. Good organization, they make it easy for you by bringing equipment with you, even skis this time (and very nice one too). The gentlemen are not only very professional, but also pleasant company! 😉 Highly recommended.

  91. As always a great week with Michiel and Gijs-Jan

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    1 December 2015

    The fresh coat in Stubai was perfect for the slopes. Off-piste there was little basis, and then it is essential that you have people with you who know the way. Michiel de Ruijter and Gijs-Jan Laven are the right men for this. They also brought top skis (Dynastar Mythic) that the whole group could ride on and of course the other necessary equipment. No legs left after five days and that’s a good sign

  92. in one word: AMAZING

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    1 December 2015

    I thought with 30 years of skiing I was experienced. Luckily I was wrong.. Great to learn and to be challenged and to explore the great heights. Thank you epic!

  93. A Fantastic Experience!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    1 December 2015

    Had 4 days Off-Piste training in Hintertux.
    Michiel’s lessons were clear and effective.
    Next time to Canada 😉

  94. For the first time with EPIQUE and not for the last!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    1 December 2015

    I have been in the mountains with quite a few different organizations in my life. But as far as I’m concerned, EPIQUE is at the top of the list from now on. The program (off-piste training on the glacier of Hintertux) was very well structured. Clear structure, which I really liked. Michael is really good at what he does. His clear explanation, great knowledge and skills, clarity, patience, understanding and not to forget humor made the difference for me. I learned a lot. But I also had the feeling that I was really welcome haha! You do that very well. Gijs-Jan, Michiel, Vincent and Bas, many thanks and see you next time!

  95. Super good Piste and Technique training on the Stubai Glacier.

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    18 November 2015

    Went with Epique again after the Summer Sessions. This time to the Stubai Glacier. We had all kinds of snow and slopes, also a lot of sun, and a super trainer, who explains well in understandable language. It starts out easy, but soon ramps it up towards more difficult exercises, and eventually you just find it has worked. Yes I can ski even better now. Top top top, GJ thanks, and see you next time! We also had an excellent hotel, and felt pampered like royalty.

  96. Had Off-piste/Piste training at top level

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    11 November 2015

    Just had two clinics from Epique in Sölden. Due to the lack of many off-piste opportunities, I also spent a lot of time on the slopes. It’s fantastic how he masters the techniques and can make the translation for everyone at his level. Useful and super fun to better master new techniques. The guide is a nice interested cool guy that you can have around. Thanks again and see you next time!

  97. Had a super fun slope and technique training

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    8 November 2015

    Attended a track and technique training for the first time. It was a very educational and fun holiday. Something for everyone, small groups and very good guidance. I will definitely go again. Are you still in doubt? I say go for it.

  98. stay in shape with Summer sessions.

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    22 August 2015

    The Summer sessions are recommended to stay in shape at the times of the year when you don’t ski, and to work on your technique, so that your technique becomes even better. Of the 12 that can be booked, I have only been to 5, and yet there has been noticeable progress. Thank you Michael

  99. Educational and fun

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    7 August 2015

    This summer I participated for the first time in the summer sessions in Zoetermeer. Extremely educational and very enjoyable. A must for those who can’t get enough of skiing in the summer.

  100. Ski touring in Iceland: a must!

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Isafjordur, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    5 May 2015

    Michiel, Gijs-Jan, top guides! Well prepared and yet adventurous. What is described below is as it was and will be!

  101. Awesome adventure with top guides!

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Isafjordur, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    4 May 2015

    Toured Iceland for a week with Michiel and Gijs-Jan! Wonderful adventure where the guides managed to make it a great challenge every day! thanks!!!

  102. We want more!

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    4 May 2015

    A great first introduction to touring in Silvretta. Gijs-Jan is a fantastic guide; patient, experienced, professional, pedagogical, good sense of group dynamics, technically savvy, sociable and sense of humor! The program is well structured, with sufficient flexibility. We are already looking forward to the next tour adventure!

  103. Every day a cool ski tour!

    Review over: Tour Skiing in Isafjordur, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    2 May 2015

    Iceland, the drive to Isafjordur, the boat trip, the zodiac landing on the northernmost part of Iceland, the lodge, the touring, the couloir, the food, the fun, the flexibility, the challenges, the extreme. Enough to mention making it an unforgettable experience. Thank you Michiel and Gijs-Jan!

  104. life changing (n)iceland

    Review over: Ski & Sail Hornstrandir, Iceland, Gepubliceerd op

    9 April 2015

    Week on a sailboat in the Icelandic fjords of Hornstrandir. In itself quite an experience just below the Arctic Circle. Fantastic views, unforgettable colours, good food, even better fun and a fantastic group! You would almost forget that this week is all about sign Freeride touren. Fresh pow, fantastic lines, first track, challenging couloirs. All this under the inspiring guide work of Michel and Gijs-Jan. They sometimes know better what you can handle as skiing than you realize it yourself at that moment. Groundbreaking, Thanx guys!
    6 stars out of 5 in my opinion.

  105. *****

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    1 April 2015

    Hello Gijs Jan.
    Very nice to see how you have good posture for skiing.
    Learned a lot from using thigh and abs muscles.
    I will NOT forget your lesson .

    Kind regards from Gerard

  106. TOP leadership training in the Alps

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    30 March 2015

    Epique helped TrainAway to organize a TOP leadership training in the Alps.

    A group of 12 forty-somethings … highly educated, males. Entrepreneurs and corporate citizens. Dumped together in a basic mountain hut. Under the guidance of Epique and TrainAway’s professional coaches, to help themselves & meet each other on unforgettable mountain ridges, challenging descents and beautiful views. Topped off with a lot of beer to give all the emotions free rein. Inspiring, challenging and super educational.

  107. Super clinics (Snowboard) by Gijs-Jan Lavèn

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    25 March 2015

    Week 12 I held my winter sports (snowboarding) in Köningsleiten. Gijs-Jan Lavèn was there to give various clinics: technique, freestyle, freeride, off-piste, equipment maintenance (waxing, etc.), avalanche (danger). Despite the fact that I have been snowboarding for many years, I still learned a lot from Gijs-Jan. A super guy, relaxed, clear explanation, very enthusiastic. Next year I will plan my winter sports again in a week that Gijs-Jan is also there. Gijs-Jan, thank you very much, also for the hike to the top of the mountain and then to make a beautiful descent.

    see you,

    Rob

  108. Mega enthusiastic sporty group

    Review over: Heidelberger Hütte weekend, Gepubliceerd op

    17 March 2015

    We went to Ischgl with a group of enthusiastic freeriders at the beginning of February. The hut, which was already at a considerable height of 2400 m, was already top notch. Last day the 3000 m ticked. Nice group, learned a lot, beautiful snow.

  109. Very educational and challenging

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    10 March 2015

    Last weekend we went to wePoweder Alert with 8 people (3 Belgians and 5 Dutch) in Solden and Hochgurgl. All this under the guidance of mountain guide Boris Textor. It was a great trip with a pleasant and well-balanced group. We were able to find reasonable powder and made beautiful descents. Also learned a lot about mountains, snow, wind, exposition, steepness and avalanche danger thanks to Boris. Definitely recommended. Both the trip and the guide!

  110. great trip

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    15 February 2015

    Been a few times with Epique. Always well organized and cared for. Michiel, Bas, Gijs-Jan and the other instructors and guides know how to find the best in the areas. And always pushing you a little so that you get even better at boarding or skiing. I will definitely go again next year.

  111. Had a fantastic weekend!

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    2 February 2015

    The guides (Boris and Gijs-Jan) were very good but also pleasant. Got good tips to improve off-piste skiing and looked up nice places.

  112. thoroughly enjoyed

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    28 January 2015

    Absolutely great

  113. Seek and you shall find

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    28 January 2015

    It was not easy for the guides to find some fresh snow but they managed to pull it off every time. Try it next year when there is real snow 😉 Extra compliment for the super accommodation at Alke

  114. portes du soleil.....always pow to be found.....

    Review over: Freeride Portes so Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    28 January 2015

    If you’re out with the right guides, Epique does have a good arsenal to draw from.
    Bas Elhorst and Chris Salentiing will arrange that. Great was also the flexibility ….. you could easily switch between the technique group and the “race” group in consultation. The hotel where we were….the best kitchen around PDS. Thank you guidance, hotel crew and fellow participants.

  115. Super educational trip with a great atmosphere

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    19 January 2015

    In January I participated in the off-piste training weekend in the Arlberg. A technique weekend of Epique is accessible for every off-piste level and that turned out to work perfectly in practice. We were evenly matched as a group and motivated each other to get the most out of a descent, all under the enthusiastic leadership of Gijs-Jan and Boris (guide of the other group). Gijs-Jan has an eye for detail and with good feedback ensures that you make technical progress. It doesn’t matter whether you are a skier or a boarder, because of this boarders and skiers can also participate very well together. Because both Gijs-Jan and Boris have a nose for good snow, we skied super nice runs, while the conditions were not always ideal. After skiing there was still time for a nice drink in the apres-ski. For whom? This trip is suitable for both the novice freerider and advanced, because in the latter case Gijs-Jan knows how to motivate you to reach a higher level. Great weekend!

  116. Experienced only beautiful things

    Review over: Free tour Tyrol, Gepubliceerd op

    14 January 2015

    Epique took us on a freetour trip in Stubai, Ötz and Pitztal. Due to the difficult circumstances, we had to constantly adjust our plans, but that certainly didn’t make the trip any less beautiful.

    We have been able to tick off all alpine experiences this trip:

    – Bumping up in a biting wind.
    – Be the first to grab nice freeride lines within the area.
    – Made a blue bird crossing over an untracked glacier.
    – Lovely touring in the sun to a top.

    Each part beautiful in its own way.

    Thanks Epique!

  117. Top week with top guide!

    Review over: Free tour Tyrol, Gepubliceerd op

    13 January 2015

    Last week I went on a glacier tour with Gijs through the Stubai, Ötz and Pitztal valleys. Looking back, an unforgettable ski tour that I wouldn’t trade for gold.

    I am convinced that Gijs’ qualities both as a guide and as a person have formed the basis of this fantastic journey.

    On the mountain it soon became clear that Gijs is a real connoisseur and lover of the Bergführer profession. With freeriding Gijs managed to find new untrodden pieces of powder time and time again. Despite the bad weather conditions in the first few days, Gijs also managed to get the best out of the situation and make good use of other options.

    Gijs was also very good communicator. Both at individual and group level, there was clear consultation and good listening. In addition, Gijs often provided clear feedback on skiing technique and provided clear information about snow conditions.

    In short, a fantastic trip with a top guide.

    Thanks Gijs!

  118. sympathetic and professional guys

    Review over: Off-piste Training Portes du Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    6 December 2014

    Michiel and Gijs-Jan know what they are doing. With attention to the group and to the individual. For me it was the first experience with Epique. To be repeated! Learned a lot about ski technique. Video analyzes also very enlightening! I also like the huge mountain of photos that you receive. This way you can still enjoy all those beautiful views, and you can see yourself in action again.

  119. Next year again!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    5 December 2014

    It was the third time in a row that we went with Michiel and Gijs-Jan in November. This time for the first time to the Stubai Glacier (before this to Hintertux). This time not only training on and off the slopes, but also a nice tour to the Pfaffenkogel. Thanks guys, it was beautiful again!

  120. Lesser circumstances, but a super long trip!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    1 December 2014

    Last week I went on the road with Gijs-Jan during the off-piste training on the Hintertuxer Gletscher, it was great! Despite the lesser circumstances, Gijs-Jan managed to put down a top program. Short hikes were rewarded with a We also received training on the slopes, which served us very well in the retarded terrain.

    As a person, Gijs-Jan is really a top guest, a guide who analyzes all circumstances down to the last detail and then explains extensively to the group.

  121. You won't believe it until you participate

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    26 November 2014

    Everyone is excited. All excellent reviews on the Epique site. Isn’t that almost impossible?! Well, after following the Epique training in Hintertux last week with Gijs-Jan, I understand why everyone is so positive. What a great experience. Not only the area of ​​the Hintertux Glacier but also the trainer provides the necessary challenge. Have you not yet pushed your boundaries in the terrain? No problem, that will happen during training. Gijs-Jan, thank you for the great training. You are a good coach with an eye for nature and safety. I learned a lot. See you next time.

  122. Great summer!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    13 September 2014

    I participated in the summer sessions last summer and I learned a lot. You go back to your first ski lessons to get the basic technique back and to unlearn incorrectly learned technique. For me that was an eye opener. Roderick and Michiel’s directions, explanations and video analyzes are enlightening. I learned a lot from it and my technique has definitely improved (if I do say so myself). Gentlemen, thank you for the training and fun. It was a great summer!

  123. And then you think you can ski......

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    5 September 2014

    One day you choose Epique’s Summer Sessions and realize that every Thursday you’re out in the cold with your ski suit on while your friends go to the beach. And what can you train on such a snow track in Zoetermeer? Well, you’ll soon find out! If you think you can ski, Epique is the place to be. Both Roderick and Michiel give very good group training with individual instructions and specific exercises. Actually you all just have private lessons and you are serious skiing. Has my technique really improved? To answer that question, all I have to do is look at the video footage shot and analyzed each week. Roderick, Michiel, thank you for the training. My technique has clearly improved and it has once again benefited me a lot. See you next year.

  124. Enthusiastic ski cracks

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    27 May 2014

    Michiel and Gijs-Jan are enthusiastic ski cracks who are always ready to make everyone happy. Even when the snow or the weather is disappointing, they come up with good creative solutions. The tips and tricks during the training sessions are extremely useful and strengthen everyone’s self-confidence and safety. After the fantastic heli-skiing experience at the Bell Lodge, I started to focus more on touring. Epique’s knowledge and experience also helps there. Epique is recommended for anyone who wants better skiing or more fun in the snow.

  125. Touring in the Silvretta in Tyrol!

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    13 May 2014

    After a long weekend with Gijs-Jan in January in Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis, we had the pleasure of touring the Silvretta Mountains with Gijs-Jan for 5 days in April. By ‘we’ I mean on a very diverse company, both personally, mentally and conditionally Based on these trips I can do nothing but give Gijs-Jan a well-deserved feather in the….

    Anyway, 3 reasons why you, as a true Berg fanatic, should have gone out with Gijs-Jan at some point:

    1 – Gijs-Jan knows how to motivate, inspire and stimulate people both individually and in groups. These qualities ensure that he manages to guide the individual and the whole to a higher level (literally and figuratively).

    2 – What not everyone knows is that Gijs-Jan has been genetically and bionically manipulated. This gives him an uplink to “the cloud” with an overview of descents with the best conditions (snow and safety-related). In short, the best descents are guaranteed!

    3 – Gijs-Jan is just a cool peer, a terribly good and very experienced guide with an inexhaustible supply of energy and humor. The most important ingredients for a great trip!

  126. Groundbreaking

    Review over: Ski tour Sellrain Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    16 April 2014

    Gijs-Jan, Our group was still relatively inexperienced in tour skiing. You have warmed us all up to beautiful tours with your infectious enthusiasm. With:
    – a tailor-made program;
    – good group dynamics;
    – the fantastic hut life; and
    – beautiful descents.
    In short, the high expectations have been fulfilled. Until next year and for now have fun in Sölden.

  127. Awesome!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    15 April 2014

    Just got back from a great Silvretta tour with Epique, who showed us cool descents, got to know the cabin life and made sure everyone had a lot of fun conquering the mountains. Super!

  128. Very cool!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    15 April 2014

    Gijs-Jan, thank you very much for the unforgettable trip through the Silvretta Mountains! Perfectly organized and all wishes of the group taken into account. To be repeated.

  129. Cheers!

    Review over: Ski tour Silvretta Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    15 April 2014

    Toured the Silvrettagruppe for five days with none other than Goit-Jan the Skiführer. Instantly became addicted to ski touring and not least because of the unparalleled guidance of our guide. I would recommend it to everyone!

  130. Thank you toppers!

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    1 April 2014

    Hi Michael and Gijs,

    I wanted to thank you again for the super days with the Hike Ride in Ischgl. I really enjoyed it and have a great feeling about it. I hope in the future that I can experience more of these kind of trips and I hope with you!

    With kind skins “Thank you”
    Charles

  131. TOP!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    25 March 2014

    We had a good few days in Mallnitz, Ankogel, Eggerhof, Aussenfragant, Hallenbad Jacuzzi, the Mölltalergletscher and the Nordhang to Sportgastein & and the car train. I had a great time!

  132. Time of my life!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    23 March 2014

    Just finished an unforgettable three days with Gijs-Jan in three different mountain areas of sunny Carinthia. Fantastic challenges and the boundaries (again) stretched further with respect for safety. In addition to being a professional ski guide, Gijs-Jan is also a pleasant roommate and great company at the table. I’m already looking forward to version 2.0

  133. Again super educational and fun!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    12 March 2014

    The clinics were fun and educational again during the NK Freeride! Even though the guide was in the area for the first time, he always managed to find nice routes.

    Thank you and see you soon!

  134. learned a lot and very nice clinic

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    7 March 2014

    It was a very enjoyable and informative clinic. Hope to experience this again soon. Thank you Epique!

  135. A success

    Review over: Freeride Portes so Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    26 February 2014

    Found it very nice experience. Had a really great week. Guides act responsibly and safely. So worth repeating!

  136. Top Guests

    Review over: Freeride Portes so Soleil, Gepubliceerd op

    12 February 2014

    Because of the agenda I only drove 1 day in Portes du Soleil. I really enjoyed it, cozy atmosphere, a lot of knowledge and had fun with Bas. Highly recommended.

    Greetings Paul

  137. Top week!

    Review over: Ski tour Sellrain Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    20 January 2014

    We had a wonderful week of Touring in the Steiermark with Epique. We were afraid beforehand that the snow conditions would be too bad, luckily this was not so bad. The weather was fantastic and we were able to make quite a few nice turns in the end!

    Thanks for a great week!

  138. Sky High

    Review over: Ski tour Sellrain Hut tour, Gepubliceerd op

    19 January 2014

    With Gijs-Jan Laven 4 days on the road in the beautiful mountains of the Triebental in Steiermark, Austria. Gijs-Jan keeps the pace nice and high during the climb, we went up the mountain like a rocket with Gijs as leader and inspiration. During the descents, trade-offs were shared, challenges sought and chamois spotted. A wonderful experience. It is important that in addition to his qualities as a Führer, Gijs-Jan is also great company, a top guy in the jacuzzi and at the table. Make sure you have big spoons with you for the spaghetti intake of this guide! ;). Thank you and see you next year!

  139. Well organized event

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    16 December 2013

    I attended the wepowder kickoff, well organized event with skilled guides and lots of nice people. I do think there is room for improvement. For example, it would have been helpful if the guides had sat down to discuss the area’s options prior to this weekend, especially for the guides who didn’t visit the area very often. I also found 7 people per guide a bit too much and prefer to pay a little more to ride with a smaller group. If there are level differences in a group, there could be some shifting between the groups after the first day.

  140. Recommended!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    4 December 2013

    Followed the off-piste training in Hintertux last days from Thursday to Sunday. Had good, fun and varied training from Michiel de Ruijter and Roderik Sillevis on both the piste and off-piste. The accommodation and guidance were perfectly fine. there is the possibility to try out a different type of ski.
    All in all, a must for anyone who wants to improve and broaden their skiing experience.

    Gr. Martin

  141. It was amazing!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    2 December 2013

    Just got back from a great off piste training in Hintertux. It was great!

    If you want to learn to ski in the terrain then you really have to do it at Epique! The trainers Michiel de Ruijter and Roderik Sillevis have a logical training structure to make that challenging off-piste descent with you. They will push your limits so that you are guaranteed to descend with a better technique. The improvements are captured in photos and videos. Nice to see yourself again and to share with friends on facebook. Furthermore, I always felt that we were safe on the road, with beeper, shovel and probe. The trainers know the area like the back of their hand, so there are enough routes for a descent adapted to the group. Make sure you are in good shape and trained (leg) muscles.

    Definitely worth repeating for me. Congratulations to Michiel and Roderik.

    Until next time. Regards, Alex

  142. Only praise!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    29 November 2013

    Hi Gijs-Jan, Bas and Michael,

    Last week we drove four days with Bas in Tux. Only praise! Nice location, well looked after. The lessons were adapted to the level of the group. Clear explanation on the slopes, sometimes back to the basics, to practice this first on and then immediately off-piste. The importance of a good (basic) technique becomes immediately clear. In addition, plenty of time to enjoy the fresh powder that had fallen … you had arranged that well ;-).
    The cliniq waxing and grinding was very clear and also nice that it was nice and practical, immediately applicable! The cliniq about the ski technique may have seemed a little less relevant to the boarders at first, but the day after we applied certain discussed techniques from the cliniq to the board, and then it became immediately clear that these things also apply to snowboarders.

    Very cool that you were also able to arrange the trip for snowboarders and I will definitely recommend the trip to other people!

    Greetings,
    Ellen

  143. Make sure you are in good shape!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    18 November 2013

    Done a very cool ‘off piste’ course with Ski School Assen in Hintertux Nov 2013. More than enough instruction throughout the day and on the other hand also making meters on and off-piste. Clear structure in the program and in the evening a personal instruction via video which was made during the day Michiel and Gijs-Jan, it was absolutely great.

    For those who are interested: Make sure your condition is in order, then it will also be used to the maximum!
    I can highly recommend this to everyone.

    The sporty greetings from Erik

  144. personal attention and tips

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    23 July 2013

    Summer Sessions is Fun: working on your skiing technique in the summer, with good (new) snow, lots of space to practice, personal attention and good tips & tops from Michael. And now for the 2nd time also a nice group. Thank you! Gr. Rob

  145. High level training!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    22 July 2013

    Started enthusiastically again this summer with the “Summer Sessions” in Snowworld Zoetermeer. Michiel’s training sessions are of a very high level, I find it very special how he can always give exactly the instructions that are needed to take one step further. and how he can get the whole group excited to really learn to ski better.

    Regards, William”

  146. Best trip ever!

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    18 December 2012

    Dear Michael,

    I can say that the ‘wePowder Season Kick Off’ was the most beautiful trip I have ever made in the mountains (and there are quite a few, because I have been skiing since I was 3 years old). So I can think of very little criticism. We are clearly and always informed well in advance, which is reassuring for a beginner. The price was right for the unforgettable experience I got to experience. You and your employees were always friendly and helpful.

    Erwin is a very great gentleman. Not only literally but also figuratively. Taking a beginner group safely off-piste is a challenge. The difference in level in the beginners group did not make this any easier. The last day the ‘lesser gods’ of the group were not with us and we kept a very nice pace. I have learned a lot in various areas (technique, safety, choice of terrain, group dynamics,…). His approach was thoughtful, constructive, pleasant with an occasional ‘dry’ humour. You always ‘triggered’ me when it came to safety. Not that I felt unsafe (perhaps during that long descent with traverse), I would rather describe it as ‘aware of the various dangers’. I was able to get acquainted with the different aspects of ‘freeriding’ and it leaves me wanting more.

    So, I also want to wish you the best of luck with Epique. I am sure we will meet again soon.

    Best regards from exotic Belgium!
    Dries Plevoets

  147. A super few days!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    27 February 2012

    Thanks to Jelle and Michiel, we had a great experience in St. Anton over the past few days. The group was well coordinated. A different location for a longer stay arranged by Michiel was great, highly recommended! Thanks for the flexibility! and arranging it! Our guide Jelle, is a winner! He knew how to get the most out of the participants and the day every time, with safety first. This boy really knows what he is talking about! What a technique and skill he has and what do we have Enjoyed it, will do it again next time!

    Thanks for a super few days!
    Hans

  148. Japan is a must!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    17 February 2012

    Powder in Japan: just returned from a trip to Niseko organized by Epique. Highly recommended, do it!
    Skills Style followed in Hintertux: very educational and fun.

  149. Very educational and fun

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    17 February 2012

    Followed a Skills Style in Hintertux in November: very educational and fun. Then powder in Japan: just back from an Epique organized trip to Niseko. Highly recommended, do it!

  150. Fresh snow and thick lines!

    Review over: Freeriding in Niseko, Japan, Gepubliceerd op

    16 February 2012

    Hey Michael and Jelle! It was a very nice trip to Japan last week. Fresh snow and thick lines every day. Greetings Arthur.

  151. Thank you!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    11 December 2011

    Last November we followed an off-piste course. We can fully endorse Ernst van Altena’s experiences (read his message of 14 February). As a small foretaste of the new season, we spent 2 hours at SnowWorld Zoetermeer yesterday during a Tips Tricks session. Thanks Michael.

  152. Great stay and super guidance

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    19 November 2011

    Went to Hintertux with Club SnowWorld Zoetermeer with 18 people of different levels. Raised there by three top trainers (Jelle, Tom & Michiel) to an even higher level. Excellent accommodation and super guidance. Highly recommended for everyone to visit Epique once definitely until next time.

    Gr. arie

  153. Learned a lot and laughed!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    5 November 2011

    A week of Off piste training in Hintertux, that was really great. Absolutely groundbreaking in a very pleasant way, for everyone at their own level. Learned a lot and also laughed a lot! Certainly enough technical knowledge to practice with And a great feeling left over from a wonderful week!

    Thanks Michael and see you next time,

    Bye, French

  154. Had a great time!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    1 October 2011

    Had a great time, very nice group with a good level. Because there was actually no more snow in the Arlberg just outside the slopes, the level of the group made it Hike & Ride. We did great things. Despite 3 weeks of no snow Irian still managed to find small parts of powder and firnschnee. What a party. Irian is a super guide who knows what he is talking. Goes for the extreme where possible, but puts safety first. Really a super experience where the maximum is achieved Michiel thanks for the good place to stay. Really super arranged, in the middle of the village, good rooms and top breakfast.

    Yours sincerely,
    Sander Faass

  155. Wonderfully trained!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    25 May 2011

    Met Club Snowworld Zoetermeer een weekend getraind in Landgraaf. Dit onder leiding van Michiel. Door zijn duidelijke uitleg en oefeningen zijn we weer een stapje verder in de skitechniek van het race carven en buckels. Gr.Maarten

  156. Entirely right!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    21 March 2011

    Spent last week with Michiel de Ruijter with a group of 8 people in Sankt Anton. Despite the moderate off-piste possibilities, Jelle managed to make it a wonderful week. He even managed to improve our skiing technique. In addition, he felt very well what the group’s needs were.In short, all right!

    Regards,

  157. Professional and enjoyable

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    15 February 2011

    My brother and I arrived to St. Anton knowing we were going to ski in one of the best ski areas of the world, accompanied with Michiel our experience was even better than we expected. We had a professional and enjoyable guide. He teached us many details to improve our skills. I am happy I could share the mountain with someone like him.

    Best regards,

    Albert

  158. Good (video) analyses. Top!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    14 February 2011

    Michiel is one of our trainers at Club Snowworld Zoetermeer. If there is anyone who can describe skiing technique and transfer it to others, it is him. His workouts are clear, constructive, stimulating. Good (video) analyses. Top!

  159. Challenging but safe!

    Review over: wePowder Season Kick-off, Gepubliceerd op

    14 February 2011

    We had great days in St. Anton am Arlberg. The composition of the group was ideal and Irian was a good guide. Irian is a very pleasant guide. He takes into account the wishes of the group and makes it clear what is important He challenges but goes for safety.The Arlberg is very diverse as an area and therefore a day can have different aspects.I think with the current conditions he got the most out of it for us.

    With kind regards and maybe see you in Dutch week Val Thorens, Marcel Clausing

  160. Get the best out of yourself!

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    5 December 2010

    Went to Tux with Michiel in November 2010. What a great week. We had optimal conditions early in the season. Michiel is a trainer who gives 120% of himself every time. That motivates. His sharp and direct tips ensure that you knows how to get the best out of yourself.

    Highly recommended, a week with Epique is more than worth it.

    Gr. Sebastian

  161. Tired but satisfied

    Review over: Off-piste Training Hintertux, Gepubliceerd op

    29 October 2010

    Significantly improve your technique in three days…. is that possible? Yes that works. During the course you will learn how to improve your technique considerably. In a fun way and a combination of teaching methods, your technique is tinkered with and sometimes very spartan. After three days you are tired but satisfied, with a result that you can be proud of. Thank you!

  162. Recommended!

    Review over: Epique - Mountain Adventures, Gepubliceerd op

    5 December 2009

    I had a group training from Michiel in Zermatt November 2009. Good training with a lot of technical training. Especially the pragmatic appeals to me. Just ski and then analyze. Definitely recommended and worth it.

    Keep it up.
    Regards, Jos